Be the Change You Wish to See

What I’m really trying to say….

As I pondered this prompt (Thanks Mardra!) and thought about what type of information I’ve been putting out in the universe lately, I had to pause.  For those who don’t know me, (and maybe to some who do) my writing may appear to lean toward the negative.

Am I really that angry? Or is it just that what persuades me to put pen to paper (or fingers to keys) is the injustice I see on a daily basis? I share the happy of others, post an occasional vote of encouragement too, but what convinces me to voice my own opinions is usually outrage combined with an overwhelming sense of “There but for the grace of God go I.”

My recent writings have involved things like words that offend parents of children with all types of special needs, an entire segment of our community being at risk of early death while “the public” remains unfazed, and the use of prone restraints, by men who were being paid to protect and serve, causing the death of young men with Down syndrome.

Then, there was my Thanksgiving post. *I do have it in me to write about positive things.

So in answer to the question, I’m trying to say that each of us can, and should, do our best to create real change.  In my case, it’s being a voice. That means bringing attention to things that aren’t always pleasant.  It involves rallying the troops needed to make sure injustice doesn’t get swept under the rug. It means addressing issues (like Alzheimer’s and grief) that parents face so they don’t feel alone.

If empathy inspires my writing, I have to consider that a gift. It is, of course, a double-edged sword. It requires feeling collective pain deep enough to let it motivate you. It demands being passionate enough to take risks. And it doesn’t always make you the most popular girl in the room.

The key, in my opinion, is to not allow what I’m trying to say be the end of it.

We have to be the change… or be part of the problem.

Be the change that you wish to see in the world

 

This self-examination is part of Finish The Sentence Friday – a blog link-up hosted by Finding Ninee. This week is being co-host by my friend and partner Mardra Sikora. There are some really great stories by other participants – check them out.

Comments
4 Responses to “Be the Change You Wish to See”
  1. ruchira says:

    I so agree with you cause actions speak louder than words and we ought to now make it happen 🙂

    xoxo

    Like

  2. Mardra says:

    You’re the most popular girl in my room!
    Mwa!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kristi Campbell - findingninee says:

    I so so agree. We have to DO something and sadly, sometimes, that comes across as negative. But in order to protect and embrace everybody, people need to know what’s happening to some with special needs. I’m so glad you joined Finish the Sentence this week.

    Like

Leave a Reply

DEENA'S DAYS

MUSIC and SPORTS, what else is there?

Hot Dogs and Marmalade

Salty like hot dogs (and tears). Sweet like marmalade (and life).

Relative Truth

It is imperative that truth be factual and not founded on what we opine.

CountyRoadChronicles

Tracy, daughter of the King, wife to the knight, Mom to a quiver and Gram to some shorties. .

Walkersvillemom

Writing on "Joshisms," Down syndrome advocacy, and #JusticeForEthan

Value. Acceptance. Inclusion.

A View from the President of the National Down Syndrome Society

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

How to Raise Benevolent Dictators

The Best Parenting Blog Ever that you barely heard of

Proactive Indian

Reflections on everyday life in India and elsewhere

Whoopsie Piggle

An Ohio family full of whoopsie pigglery: personal, political, always questioning

Disability in Kidlit

Reviews, guest posts, and discussions about the portrayal of disabilities in MG/YA fiction

Scope's Blog

Scope exists to make this country a place where disabled people have the same opportunities as everyone else. Until then, we'll be here.

Growing in Faith

Learning to follow where the Lord leads me...

Peaches & Politics

I'm just a bruised peach, waiting for the dust to settle.

It Starts With A Voice

Promoting the acceptance and inclusion of people with intellectual disabilities

Plucking Of My Heartstrings

Blogging on a variety of things that pluck at the hearts' emotions & more

Parent Your Business

When I'm not parenting, I'm working. Or doing laundry.

Eggfacemomhead

Secrets from the zoo

