Music Monday – Remembering Granddaddy Bill

In my lifetime, I’ve gone through different stages when it comes to jewelry.  There was a time, in my early twenties, when I had rings for every finger.  I’ve had favorite bracelets, and a slew of watches to match different moods.  My ears are pierced, twice, and I used to love finding unique ways to express myself with different symbols.  And, of course, I’ve worn three different sets of wedding/engagement rings…..

During the last decade or so, my jewelry has been sitting in a box designed and created by my father.  I barely look at it anymore.  I suppose it’s got something to do with the limited amount of time I spend out of the house, but still, my collection is there collecting dust.  The only piece I wear, the one object that never leaves my neck, is a gold chain that used to be worn by my grandfather.  I inherited it when he passed away in 1993.  This very active, always funny, “ladies man” was suddenly and unexpectedly reduced to a fraction of his former self by a brain tumor.  It was discovered one autumn day in 1992 when he relayed to friends that he thought it was 1970 and he was in Baltimore – over thirty miles away from his current position in downtown Frederick, MD.  The diagnostic process, the surgery to remove it, and the limited recovery lasted only a few months, but it was devastating for him and for me.  The last time I saw him was when we were forced to move him to a nursing home for his own safety.  It was excruciatingly painful to admit that we could no longer provide the level of care that he needed.   His stay there was brief.  He only lasted a matter of days before he left this world for his next adventure.

As I sit here fingering my precious keepsake, noting the kinks in the smooth surface from over use, I think about how he would not want me to remember those last few months.   He’d much rather I remember the jokes we’d play on each other, the songs he’d sing as he cooked me dinner in his bachelor’s kitchen.  He’d want me to think about his favorite cat, Joe, who jumped through the glass in his front door and received a special diet and extra care from my grandfather for the remainder of their time together.  He’d call me by my mother’s name, or her by mine, just to see our reaction.  He’d call to talk on the phone and the conversations were never short.  They almost always included some detail about what a wonderful young man my brother had become.   He loved us and we depended on him more than anyone else.

Today, I’ll spend Memorial Day remembering my Granddaddy Bill – a positive male influence in my life, and WWII Coast Guard veteran – with one of his favorite songs to sing, hum, or whistle, Strangers in the Night by Frank Sinatra.

Happy Memorial Day!

 

 

Leave a Reply

DEENA'S DAYS

MUSIC and SPORTS, what else is there?

Hot Dogs and Marmalade

Salty like hot dogs (and tears). Sweet like marmalade (and life).

Relative Truth

It is imperative that truth be factual and not founded on what we opine.

CountyRoadChronicles

Tracy, daughter of the King, wife to the knight, Mom to a quiver and Gram to some shorties. .

Walkersvillemom

Writing on "Joshisms," Down syndrome advocacy, and #JusticeForEthan

Value. Acceptance. Inclusion.

A View from the President of the National Down Syndrome Society

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

How to Raise Benevolent Dictators

The Best Parenting Blog Ever that you barely heard of

Proactive Indian

Reflections on everyday life in India and elsewhere

Whoopsie Piggle

An Ohio family full of whoopsie pigglery: personal, political, always questioning

Disability in Kidlit

Reviews, guest posts, and discussions about the portrayal of disabilities in MG/YA fiction

Scope's Blog

Scope exists to make this country a place where disabled people have the same opportunities as everyone else. Until then, we'll be here.

Growing in Faith

Learning to follow where the Lord leads me...

Peaches & Politics

I'm just a bruised peach, waiting for the dust to settle.

It Starts With A Voice

Promoting the acceptance and inclusion of people with intellectual disabilities

Plucking Of My Heartstrings

Blogging on a variety of things that pluck at the hearts' emotions & more

Parent Your Business

When I'm not parenting, I'm working. Or doing laundry.

Eggfacemomhead

Secrets from the zoo

