Hello! It’s Me

Music Mondays


 

During the A to Z Challenge, one of the new blogs I found that quickly became a favorite was Maybe It’s Just Me.  I loved Andrea’s theme – 70’s music.  Every day there was a new video that took me back.  It was great!  I kinda miss it now that April is over so I decided to start my own tribute to her great theme – Music Mondays.   Each Monday I plan to post a favorite video (either mine or Joshua’s) and say a little something about what it means to us.  Hopefully, it will mean something to some of you too and we can share memories.

I decided to start with one of my very first “favorite records.”   Luckily, I was only six when the re-released single hit the charts and I never knew what Todd Rundgren actually looked like… He’s one of those brilliant artists that went through a strange wardrobe period.

I just remember belting out the lyrics in my bedroom and swaying to the music.  Since then, it’s become one of my “go to” songs whenever I’m feeling a little lonely and blue.

 

 

According to the internet –  Rundgren’s girlfriend Bebe Buell called the outfit he’s wearing in this clip his “Man-Eating Peacock outfit.”

 

In more recent years, I fell in love with “Live From Daryl’s House” and Todd has been on there twice.  Here’s one of my favorites because of the fabulous harmonies:

 

The song is generally assumed to be about Rundgren’s breakup with long-time companion Bebe Buell in 1977.  (says Wikipedia)

 

So there you have it – sorry they’re both kinda sad songs to start your Monday with.  Hopefully I’ll get to some more upbeat songs along the way – won’t make any promises though.   🙂

 

Do you have any memories of Todd Rundgren?  Ever see him in concert?  What do you think of when you hear Hello It’s Me?  Ever watch Live From Daryl’s House?  Who was your favorite guest?

 

 

Leave a Reply

