Life really is ALL about perspective

We all “see” things differently

 

Perspective on Walkersvillemomblog

Borrowed this illustration from a great blog post on perspective as a reader of literature – check it out.

Lately, a friend of mine has been encouraging me to “read more blogs” by simply stating the obvious:  “You need to.”   😀  She’s right of course,  I do need to branch out and read some things outside of my comfort zone.   I’ve been faithfully following her “advice” for a few weeks now and it’s reminded me of one of my own personal truths:

It’s all about perspective baby!


One of the things I read the other day was a discussion about paper plates.   You may be thinking what does that have to do with anything?  Someone posed a question about the use of paper plates and one of the comments was something like “Really, in this day and age who doesn’t have a dishwasher?” (Bless her heart)  I actually laughed out loud when I read it.  I can remember being in a similar place in life.   When Josh was young I used to think, “I wonder why companies spend so much time and effort re-inventing dish detergent when most people use dishwasher detergent now.”
Ha!

Josh at his favorite daycare on Walkersvillemomblog

Josh loved that daycare!
When Josh started middle school our lives completely changed.   For one, he was suddenly no longer welcome at the before/after daycare that he had been going to for years.  It was in our neighborhood and he felt safe and secure there – but he was too old.  Yet, he wasn’t nearly mature enough to stay home alone.  Around the same time I was completely blindsided by the fact that I was suddenly single – again.  It was at this point in our lives that I realized we needed a drastic change.  I sat myself down and asked what I wanted to be when I grew up.  I realized two things:  I wanted to be home with Josh, and I wanted to finish my degree. Since then, our lifestyle has changed dramatically – mostly for the better.  I’m no longer making myself sick over what I call “co-worker drama.”  Josh has been safe and so far, hasn’t shown signs of being sick of me.  We’ve gotten a lot closer and that’s something that is priceless to me.  I got my degree, and even a masters and feel like I actually accomplished something.  (long story for another day)  But, in the past 10 years at least, we haven’t been able to afford the luxury of a dishwasher.

What’s the point?

Sometimes we don’t see how limited our view of something really is.   Until you’ve “been there” you can try, but you can’t really relate.  I think that’s why I’m so drawn to the moms I’ve been meeting lately on The Road We’ve Shared.   I don’t have to explain my position, they just get it.  No, we don’t always agree, actually very rarely do we have the same opinion about things.  What we do share is an appreciation of each other’s road.  We have an idea of what it’s like.  We understand the pressures and concerns, we know the history that embroils each fork in the road.  It’s extremely easy to talk to someone when you feel such a connection. Then today one of the blogs I found was written by a mother of a young child who has CF.  I was in tears reading about how she doubts herself daily with the decisions she makes regarding her daughter’s health care.  These are daily, life and death decisions.  Imagine the pressure.  She talks about having a bad day after finding out another child, the same age and with the same diagnosis as her precious one, passed away.  I could literally feel her pain.  I wouldn’t have understood it quite as well before January of last year.  But my perspective on that has forever changed.

#JusticeForEthan on Walkersvillemomblog

We will not forget!
As if to emphasize that fact, I found another story today about parents of adults who have developmental disabilities that have been meetingWEEKLY for over 25 years.  The woman who started the group lost her daughter who had Down syndrome about two years ago, but she still schedules the meetings and often attends them. My heart hurt thinking about her loss, and realizing the comfort those other friends must have been to her.

We never know what’s coming

So today has been all about perspective for me.   Realizing that my own is different from everyone else’s, and even different than it was a year ago, and ten years ago.  If we’re lucky, our perspective changes and grows as we do.  We have to be ready and willing to listen to others in order for that to happen.  Thanks for listening!
Has something happened to you recently to change your perspective?  How do you explain your perspective to others, or do you just think it’s useless to try?  Let’s talk!
Leave a Reply

